Communicate

All things media and comms related

Brown, Cameron or Clegg- the almost impossible choice is yours!


Election day is upon us at last…and I am still undecided.

Yes, Gordon Brown feels he is what is needed to bring the country completely out of recession and not allow us to double dip…but he was the one who led the country into a financial disaster in the first place. Plus he wants to increase employment tax – No thank you mr. Prime minister!

Tory has always been my first choice party and I feel I should be loyal to them this election. Yet, in my opinion, they are just competing with Labour and becoming more like them. Yes, we want change but can you really offer it Cameron? I do agree with their policies on health care and immigration though.

If I’m honest it is Nick Clegg that has gained my attention over the last couple of weeks. He really did hold the best argument in that first election debate and I believe he continued in the other two. It would seem that he would introduce real change for the country. Their policies include: to improve education, eventually get rid of student tuition fees and to ensure that those who come to our country have a job waiting for them. Sounds perfect. But is it all mouth? Also, do we really want the Euro to replace the pound or to get rid of our weapons of mass destruction? I am unsure.

If I do vote Lib Dem then it’s looking likely that a hung parliament is our future – although, maybe that wouldn’t actually be too bad as it is now being coined a negotiating parliament! But hang on… politicians can negotiate? 

I must say, I have been really impressed with Cameron’s 24 hour campaign marathon proving he has the stamina and motivation to lead our country. Maybe he does deserve my vote  after-all?

So… Labour is a ‘no way!’ for me but do I choose Nick Clegg who I actually really like and risk a hung parliament or my nightmare and Labour win over seats or do I stick to my loyalties and pray that Conservative can make a difference?

Well I now have under 9 hours to decide Aarrrggh!

Take part in the poll and comment below to have your say!

May 6, 2010 - Posted by | Poll | , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Interesting post – I think it says a lot about the situation we’re in that many voters who were previously loyal to one party are now wondering whether to go for a completely different set of policies…
    I’ve voted Lib Dem for a few reasons. It just seems as if the Tories only really care about those who are lucky enough to come from a rich background. I’d rather have a future generation of university students who deserve to be there and will work hard to earn their degrees, rather than only those who can afford the seven thousand(!) a year the Conservatives want to charge students.

    Comment by asouthby | May 6, 2010 | Reply

  2. It’s a bit harsh to say that Brown led us into economic disaster, after all it was a worldwide issue which no-one saw coming, and we’re not faring as badly as other contries such as Greece. Labour gets my vote rather than the Tories as they tend to favour equality more than the tories who look out more for the privileged rich of the country.

    Comment by Some Guy | May 6, 2010 | Reply

  3. Yes Amy, exactly, and the results of the poll so far are also reflecting how close this election is.
    Fair enough it may have been to do with world wide issues but he was the one in charge of OUR money at the time. But who is to say any other party would have handled it any differently…hence the problem of who to vote for that will bring change!!

    Comment by clking22 | May 6, 2010 | Reply

  4. I’ve got to say, I disagree with the comment that GB led us into a recession, he inherited a lot of the mess from Mr Blair, and that’s worth keeping in mind when passing the blame!

    Where’s the fear of Labour come from? The country would be in much safer in hands in Labour than in Tories, that’s for sure.

    I’m surprised, as a student that you show such support for the Tories, after all, they are all for pushing tuition fees up to unprecendeted levels, and if leaks into Lord Browne’s funding review are to be believed, students could soon be paying 14k a year for a degree. Shocking.

    Also, it is worth noting, that because we now have a hung parliament, this is not necessarily a bad thing. Of the 16 Hung Parliaments in Europe, 10 have AAA financial ratings, doesn’t sound too bad to me?

    Also, in terms of political parties and handling the country’s finances, there is arguably no better choice than the Lib Dem, Vince Cable has practical, professional qualifications that enable him to do the job, unlike Darling or Osborne who are arguably as qualified as you and I.

    Comment by ajhalls | May 9, 2010 | Reply

    • Blair was Labour though and that was my point!! I just want change really and I’ve always supported Conservative- student or not! So that is where my loyalties have been. I’ve had no support from Labour whatsoever due to grants and loans being based on parental income which also isn’t fair. So when it comes to Labour helping students…I really don’t agree!

      But actually I’m not convinced that any of the parties will make much difference which is what the post clearly said!

      Having said that…Conservatives won the most seats so I can’t be alone in my views.

      Comment by clking22 | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  5. why can’t students support Tories? If you’ll just look across the sea to the US these sky high tuition fees work perfectly… the scholarships give high school students proper incentive to achieve and it also encourages saving from a young age so you have a generation growing up who is already money savvy.
    And as for Lib Dem being the most qualified… how come they proposed to drop tuition fees, and then changed their mind because they realized they couldn’t afford it? Big fat mistake if I ever saw it.
    Well done Caitlin for not just basing your political opinions on the parties’ deals for students, I think it’s really small minded when people do that. We’re not going to be students for ever and you really have to get an idea of the bigger picture.

    Comment by chewitt | May 10, 2010 | Reply

  6. I’m not ruling outright that students cannot support the Tories, I just find their plans for students very disheartening. University should be a right to everybody, if you want to study for a higher education, you should be able to. It should be based on ability to learn, not ability to pay.

    I wouldn’t say the US scholarships work ‘perfectly’, I know a number of students across the pond who are similarly disheartened with their education system, many of them jealous of the set-up we have here in Britain. There’s seems to be this envy from people in the UK of the American system, when in reality it’s nowhere near perfect.

    I do see the bigger picture, which I truly believe is not with a Tory government, a party interested in the rich. I’m not being small-minded, (the phrase is narrow-minded, by the way), I’m just a student who has at least another year of study left, and someone who wants my future generations to be given the chances in education my family has.

    Like I said, education should be a right, not a privilege.

    Comment by ajhalls | May 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

